TOP 20 MOST ANTICIPATED MOVIES OF 2013: part 1

thor-2-poster-2

 

These are the upcoming films that I am looking forward to. My excitement level for these movies range from “Hmm, this could be good” all the way to “I would sell all my teeth to see this right now!”

Most the movies here are big summer blockbusters, and I have no illusions to the fact that with a list of 20 films, only a handful might be truly memorable. We shall just have to wait and see.

One other note: Oblivion starring Tom Cruise did not make the list because even though I was excited to see it after watching the trailer initially, I was forced to see the same  Oblivion trailer in front of every movie I’ve gone to see in the last 4 months.  Now, I can’t stand the sight of it.

Let’s just start with number one, shall we?

1. STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS

star-trek-into-darkness-poster-arrives-L-AZVqeB

Finally. FINALLY. Ever since the end credit sequence rolled up the screen in 2009, I was ready for the next trek into space. I was highly suspicious of these new faces playing my old favorite characters. I was also skeptical of it’s prequel premise (it’s not Star Wars. I’d rather see the Star Trek universe move forward into the future because it’s core theme is progression. Give me the next NEXT generation!) But regardless of my pre-viewing misgivings, I absolutely loved it.  I see no reason why this sequel shouldn’t be easily even better.

2. THE WOLVERINE

the-wolverine-teaser-poster

This could be The Wolverine we have all be waiting to see.  Hugh Jackman is great as everyone’s  favorite scruffy Canadian mutant, but we still haven’t seen him fully unleashed. This could be the definitive Wolverine. Or… it could be another X-men Origins. But I can honestly say it’s the superhero film I’m most excited about. Which brings us to…….

3. MAN OF STEEL

man-of-steel-poster

I am an unashamed Superman fan. Always have been. He was my first true fictional love. The first film I saw in theaters was Superman 4, and all the haters need to lay off that one. What I’m trying to say is, I would want this to be number one on my list. I want to be excited for it, but I’ve been burned too many times.

I was super skeptical of 2005’s Superman Returns, but gave into the hype by the time it came out. Half way through the film, I realized I was watching a shiny kryptonian turd. It was the single biggest movie let down in my life. I vowed then and there, amidst tears flowing into my popcorn, “Never Again.”

So far, what I’ve seen for Man Of Steel has done nothing to get me excited. Sure, the casting sounds solid. Lawrence Fishburne as Perry (not so) White and  Amy Adams as Lois are truly inspired choices. But that horrendously boring trailer! That “gritty, down-to earth” melancholy tone it portrays.  It fills me with dread. Regardless, it’s still number 3 on my list and I’ll gladly eat all my words if it’s a masterpiece.

4.  THE  WORLD’S  END

the_worlds_end_poster

Three of the most hilarious, action packed, creative, and HILARIOUS (double hilarity) films of the last ten years have been made by this man: Edgar Wright.  I’m talking about Shaun of The Dead, Hot Fuzz, and the brutally underrated Scott Pilgrim vs. The World.

This was news to me, but apparently Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz and this new film are a loose trilogy, a kind of homage/spoof of different genres. It’s called the Blood and Ice Cream trilogy. I think it refers to something British.

This one’s about five friends reuniting  to do a “pub crawl” (another British thing)  cross country, and somehow become humanities only hope for survival.

5.  THE HUNGER GAMES:  CATCHING FIRE

600x888xCatching-Fire-Poster-600x888.jpg.pagespeed.ic.wWYgqbOt00

You think the games are over, right? Katniss and Peeta got out alive. But wait! Watch out for that giant shiny pointy thing! IT WILL EAT YOUR SOUL.

Last year’s Hunger Games was a pleasant surprise to me. I thought it was good and since I was attempting to read books without pictures in them, I decided to read the trilogy. I enjoyed that too. It will be interesting to see if I like this second-act movie now that I already know what to expect. Is a movie ever better than it’s book counterpart? Yes. The Godfather. Jaws. Psycho. No Country For Old Men.

6. THOR: THE DARK WORLD

20174928.jpg-r_640_600-b_1_D6D6D6-f_jpg-q_x-xxyxx

Much like Hunger Games, I was surprised by the first Thor. I went into it with low expectations, because the trailers were unconvincing of it’s quality. Yet as my wife and I sat in the theater watching the arrogant Asgardain find his way around earth, we were won over. The film’s humor, heart, and adventurous spirit  snuck up from behind and slapped a smile on my face. Few details have been released on the sequel, but the entire cast from the first has signed on.  Dark Elves are going to take over the universe or something. Cool.

7. IRON MAN 3

hr_iron_man_3_35__span

Some say Iron Man 2 sucked. I say, no. It didn’t.

This time around there’s a new director, Shane Black. If you have seen his other movie, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, you’ll understand that he works great with  Robert Downey. And although the previews so far show a much more ominous tone devoid of the witty playfulness that made us love the first two films, it should be noted that Shane is a master at witty action writing. He wrote the screenplays for Lethal Weapon 1 thru 3, The Last Boyscout, and The Long Kiss Goodnight; all great flics to watch if you haven’t.

It will be the first Marvel film post- The Avengers. They’re calling it “phase 2.” Plus Ben Kingsley is the bad guy. Plus Guy Pierce is in it!

8. INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS

Heck, I’ll say it. The Coen Brothers are the greatest American Directors alive today.  Maybe it’s just me. I love the way they tell a story. It doesn’t matter what it’s about. Intense and dramatic? Awesome. Hilarious and cartoonish? I’m there. Irreverent and Violent? Cool. Their next story  is about the folk music scene in the 1960s.  I couldn’t care less about the folk music scene in the 1960s, and yet I wanna watch this movie. God bless you, Coen bros.

9. ELYSIUM

elysium-firstposter-full2

Five years ago, Neil Blomkamp made District 9. It truly ruled. The dude is finally making another picture, which is sci-fi yet in no way connected to District 9. It  will star Matt Damon and Jodie Foster, and deals with the really rich humans living on a space station, and the lower class forced to live on a ruined earth. So yeah, I suppose it deals with class systems like District 9 did as well. But it’s not a sequel. Really. It’s not.  Though, that device that Matt Damon is wearing in the poster sure looks like tech from the District 9 movie. But no. I’m sure it’s not a sequel, prequel, or reboot. I think.

10. THE TOMB ESCAPE PLAN

tomb still

I’m gonna quote the synopsis for this film from Imdb.com.

“When a structural-security authority finds himself incarcerated in a prison he designed, he has to put his skills to escape and find out who framed him.”

Guys, all I needed was that picture. Schwarzenegger and Stallone could be running a bakery together and I’d still go see it.

That’s all for The Top 20 Most Anticipated Movies of 2013: Part 1. Check back for  The Top 20 Most Anticipated Movies of 2013: Part 2: the revenge!

Leave a Reply

