TOP 20 MOST ANTICIPATED MOVIES OF 2013: Part 2: THE REVENGE!

 

424552

Ya know, as far as blog titles go, this one is pretty self-explanatory.  I made a list of 20 movies I’m excited about seeing this year, began writing a blog about it, realized it was going to be a freakin long post to read, and decided to split it into two blogs. I named the first blog  TOP 20 MOST ANTICIPATED MOVIES OF 2013: Part 1 and the second blog TOP 20 MOST ANTICIPATED MOVIES OF 2013: PART 2: THE REVENGE! See what I did there? I was being playful and made it sound like a movie sequel to a big blockbuster. But it’s not. It’s just a blog.

So, uh … yeah. Here it is.

11. RIDDICK

Riddick_international-poster-1PPP

Does anybody remember this character and the previous two films he’s been in?  Surely you remember Vin Diesel? My first experience of Vin was from Pitch Black, so the ol’  glowing eyes criminal with a heart gold has a special place in my heart. Of gold. It’s hard to believe this movie is happening, since the last one (2004s Chronicles of Riddick) didn’t fare that well at the box office. That just means the fan base is large enough for the studios to poop out another one. Let’s hope it’s not a stinker.

12. ENDERS GAME

fl-enders-game_810x543

As I mentioned in the previous post, last year I was into reading books. After I finished The Hunger Games trilogy, I decided to read Enders Game which I had long heard great things about. It hopes to be the next big franchise for the Harry Potter/Twilight/Hunger Games/Golden Compass crowd. Will it succeed? It DOES have Harrison Ford in it. That’s a big awesome plus. And Ben Kingsley! He’s in it too!

13. GRAVITY

gravity-movie-2013

Ok, so Director  Alfonso Cuaron gave us just about the best sci fi film of the last ten years with  2006’s Children of Men. He hasn’t made a feature film since, and the world is a terrible place because of it. Just look at our economy! Look at our President! Look at Justin Beiber! FORTUNATELY, this October we will see the release of Gravity, starring Sandra Bullock and the Clooney of the George.  They will play Astronauts who get stranded in a broken space shuttle. I assume other stuff will happen that will blow the lid off our mind bottles.

14. ANCHORMAN 2

anchorman_2-_the_legend_continues_teaser_trailer_650x388

I’m not gonna lie. I would’ve appreciated this sequel way more if it had come out 5 years ago. My friends and I  would quote the original so often, you’d think it was the only movie we had ever seen. But the Burgundy impressions finally faded out, and even my interest of Will Ferrel has been shaky in recent years. It’s impossible to be funnier than the original, because Anchorman has a firm seat in nostalgia land. And it was so unpredictable. I’m fairly certain this will be a forgettable experience. On the other had, Paul Rudd and Steve Carrell are always good, even when the movie they’re in isn’t. PLUS: Harrison Ford Bonus! I think this will be the first flat-out comedy he’s ever done. That’s got to count for something.

15. THE HOBBIT: THE DESOLATION OF SMAUG

desolation-of-smaug

It’s another one! The Hobbit proved that they’re still baking this cake with the same ingredients as the Lord of the Rings trilogy. It’s always daunting to watch a  three hour film, but these Middle-Earth adventures suck me in as soon as that moving score begins. What if I said I went to see these Hobbit films for the music? “Oh, I only watch Lord of the Rings for the score.” HA! Who does that! Oh, Benjamin, you blow-hard!

tumblr_m5hvysIMBr1r0c6p9

16. RED 2

Red-2-1st-drop

The first one was decent enough. Honestly, it’s that delightful trailer. I planned on passing this up, but that trailer put a smile on my face. Plus, it’s Bruce Willis.

17. JACK RYAN

jackryan

This is a reboot of Tom Clancy’s famous CIA agent, who in the past has been played by Alec Baldwin, Harrison Ford, and Ben Affleck. This time the character will be portrayed by young Captain Kirk Chris Pine. It could be cool.

18. KICKASS 2

Kick-Ass-2-Masks-drop

I enjoyed my theater viewing of KickAss (especially when the older gentlemen in front of me at the ticket stand said, ” Two tickets for KickButt, please”), but I haven’t felt the need to ever watch it again. And I definitely didn’t care about a sequel. But, by golly, that trailer sure does look swell! I may just have to take a gander.

19. PARANOIA

paranoia

I’m just excited to see anything with Harrison Ford again. This is a thriller about a young employee at a powerful corporation who gets mixed up in schemes and money. But really all you need to know is that it stars Bald Harrison, Commissioner Gordon, and Miley Cyrus’s Boyfriend.

20. MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING

041113_muchadoposter

From the director of The Avengers comes a movie absolutely nothing at all like it.  And purposely so, since Joss Whedon filmed this movie in secret while making the Marvel blockbuster. Can you believe this guy? His way of dealing with the immense weight and stress of making a massive, high-risk of failure summer blockbuster was to make a small movie on the side. My way of dealing with high-stress projects is to order a double bacon cheeseburger with fries on the side.

So there you have it. A list of movies. It will be interesting to see what other interesting projects pop up along the way.  Interesting indeed. If you’re interested, come back and read my official reviews of the aforementioned films. Iron Man 3 will be kicking off the movie blockbuster season this Friday!

Leave a Reply

